Menu Close

About Us

WEDA Members

Those invited to be members of the Western Extension Directors Association (WEDA) include the institutions that host the 1862 Land-Grant Cooperative Extension organizations located within the following states, territories, and U.S. protectorates: Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, California, Colorado, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, The Freely Associated States of Micronesia, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, The Northern Mariana Islands, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming. In addition WEDA works collaboratively with the Western 1994 Land-Grant institutions, and also invites them to elect (or appoint) one representative as an official member of WEDA.


WEDA works on mutually beneficial programs and organizational issues in partnership with USDA-NIFA (National Institute for Food and Agriculture), and the APLU (Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities), as well as other regional and national organizations.


The WEDA’s mission is to support and advance its members’ Cooperative Extension organizations by assisting their institutional representatives, and in turn providing value to these institutions, and the people, places, and communities they serve, in meeting the challenges and opportunities of the future. WEDA’s work is accomplished through strategic collaborations, initiatives, prioritization, and actions. WEDA assists its members in meeting the challenges and opportunities of the 21st century by:

  • Providing a network for sharing and learning;
  • Facilitating stakeholder input on critical issues;
  • Providing a platform upon which to develop national, regional, and multi-institutional partnerships;
  • Developing collaborative environments to explore, test, and advance Extension programming;
  • Creating a collective Western voice on national issues;
  • Providing mechanisms for communication;
  • Mentoring, developing, and recognizing Extension professionals and leaders.

Print this entry